In its final form, the scientific-research staff of “ARCHIMEDES” will consist of two main groups of scientists. The first will be composed of about 30 "Lead Researchers" (LRs), of which 20 will work in Greek institutions (universities or research centers) and 10 will come from respective institutions of the abroad.

Their selection will be made after an open invitation for submission of research proposals, which will be evaluated by the Scientific Advisory Board, in terms of their viability and their harmonization with the overall goals of “ARCHIMEDES”.

The duration of the LR's cooperation with “ARCHIMEDES” will vary and will depend on the research program they undertake and the commitments they make with the organizations in which they work. In general, their relationship will be sought to be long-term and their presence in “ARCHIMEDES” to be strong. The LRs are expected to be actively involved in submitting proposals to various funding bodies, as well as to lead the “Early Career Researchers” (ECR), which will be the second group of scientists-researchers of the Institute

The ECR team will comprise young scientists, who will have completed their first cycle of study and will either attend a postgraduate program, or prepare their doctoral dissertation, or will be employed at “ARCHIMEDES” as postdoctoral researchers. It is not excluded that some very talented undergraduate students will also participate.

Research groups will be created consisting of 1 or 2 LRs and 3-4 ECRs. “ARCHIMEDES” will financially support the participation of researchers in conferences, their contact with other research centers, working visits to universities and institutes and in general all the activities of "osmosis" and diffusion, which will facilitate the research purposes and contribute to scientific development, mainly of ECRs.

The project “ARCHIMEDES Unit: Research in Artificial Intelligence, Data Science and Algorithms” with code OPS 5154714 is implemented by the National Recovery and Resilience Plan “Greece 2.0” and is funded by the European Union – NextGenerationEU.